Scottish Shooting Championship
9th May 2004

West Atholl Rifle Club assisted by Blair Atholl Gun Club and Blair Atholl Small-bore Rifle Club hosted the Scottish Shooting Championships on Sunday 9th May. Despite an unpromising weather forecast 38 shooters entered the four part event comprising Fullbore Rifle, Small-bore Rifle, Clay Target and Air Weapons stages with rankings in each event added together to give an overall winner. Richard Scott and Gerry Hogston, both previous winners, ended tied for the lead with Richard taking the top spot after counting out at the longest range of 500x. Louise MacLeod (nee Nicoll) won the Ladies event and anchored the "Team Nicoll" to a win in the team event. Blairgowrie Rifle Club with their Grouse team were the best of the other six teams. Mike Baillie-Hamilton (fullbore rifle), Ian Askew (small-bore rifle), Ian Richardson (clay target) and John MacRae (air weapons) had high scores in the four stages but were not consistent enough to come close to the two overall leaders.

A multi-weapon event such as this requires substantial organisation and my thanks go to all those who helped run it including Paul Crosbie, Des Parr, John Buchanan, Duncan Fernie, John McCoy, John MacRae, Alastair Munro, Niall Meldrum, Jimmy Nicol, Bob Pirie and Neil Sturrock.

Mike Baillie-Hamilton


Where are the ****** instructions?
( - assembling the air weapons range)


Richard Scott receiving victor's spoils from Mike Baillie-Hamilton (Note what looks like specks of white dirt on picture are actually raindrops and streak downwards from green tent roof is pouring water - most of the shoot was completed in dry weather but the heavens opened at close of play)

© 2000 - West Atholl Rifle Club. All rights reserved.